top of page

Curriculum for Wales


At Penygloddfa we have spent time preparing for the New Curriculum for Wales and are now ready to deliver our curriculum to the pupils. Some of the changes in developing the Curriculum for Wales (CfW) were:

  • Appointing a Curriculum lead to attend training and disseminate information to staff.

  • Embedding the Four Core Purposes of the CfW into everyday learning. 

  • The pupils created our own Four Purpose characters. 

  • Adapted our planning to incorporate all aspects of the CfW.

  • Introduced Well-being Wednesday. A day dedicated to putting the happiness at the heart of learning.

  • Pupil voice topic based learning. 

  • Pupil focus group to talk about important school issues and generate ideas for the CfW. 

  • Whole family questionnaires including, Pupils, Teachers, Teaching Assistants, Governors and Parents. 

Understanding the Curriculum for Wales


At the heart of the curriculum for wales are the four core purposes. These are:

• Ambitious, capable learners who are ready to learn throughout their lives.

• Enterprising, creative contributors who are ready to play a full part in life and work.

• Ethical informed citizens who are ready to be citizens of Wales and the world.

• Healthy, confident individuals who are ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


The Curriculum for Wales consists of six areas of learning. These are:-














Additionally, there will be Cross-Curricular responsibilities. Through Topic based learning we will be implementing the Literacy and Numeracy Framework along with The Digital Competency Framework.


Relationships and Sexuality Education (RSE)


Our school curriculum embraces the RSE guidance and mandatory RSE Code. Our RSE provision will have a positive and empowering role in our learners’ education and will play a vital role in supporting them to realise the four purposes as part of a whole-school approach. Helping learners to form and maintain a range of relationships, all based on mutual trust and respect, is the foundation of RSE. These relationships are critical to the development of emotional well-being, resilience and empathy. Religion, Values and Ethics (RVE) Religion, values and ethics (RVE) is a statutory requirement of the Curriculum for Wales and is mandatory for all learners from ages 3 to 16. There is no parental right to request that a child is withdrawn from RVE in the Curriculum for Wales As RVE is a locally determined subject, the agreed syllabus specifies what should be taught in RVE within the local authority and our curriculum will reflect this guidance.



United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD)


Our school will promote knowledge and understanding of Part 1 of the UNCRC, and of the UNCRPD, among those who provide learning and teaching.



Progression (of learning)

Progression should be described along a continuum of learning in each area of learning and experience.

▪ It is formative and involves the learner actively in the process.

▪ Curriculum, assessment and pedagogy are seen as parts of an integrated whole.

▪ Progression of learning is described through achievement outcomes at five steps on the continuum. ▪ Progression steps relate broadly to expectations at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16.

▪ Progression steps should be reference points, providing a ‘road map’ for each individual learner’s progress in their learning, not universal expectations of their performance at fixed points.

▪ Authentic learning opportunities that connect aspects of the curriculum and make connections to ‘everyday life’.

▪ Achievement outcomes are not to be used directly for assessment. They should be used: – for school-level and class- level curriculum design, development and planning – to support practitioners’ understanding of moving learning forward.

UNICEF 2019 convention on the rights of the chid.pdf_2.png
bottom of page